Home Issues Candidates Recent Grid Archive Senate VoteMatch_Quiz
 Notebooks:   |   Bill   Sponsorships   Policy   Reports   Memberships/   Affiliations   Group   Ratings   Court   Rulings   Congressional   Surveys 

Bill Sponsorships
Policy Reports
Memberships / Affiliations
Group Ratings
Court Rulings
Senate Surveys

Bill Sponsorships:
Congressional bills 2011-2012
Congressional bills 2009-2010
2008 Presidential Contenders' bills
Congressional bills 1998-2008
2010 Senate signature bills
2008 Senate signature bills
2008 Presidential signature bills
Pres. Barack Obama's Senate signature bills
V.P. Joe Biden's Senate signature bills
Rep. Ron Paul's House signature bills
Sen. John McCain's Senate signature bills
Sen. Hillary Clinton's Senate signature bills

Congressional memberships 2012
Congressional memberships 2001-2011
112th Congress Committees
Congressional Caucuses
Congressional Group Ratings

Surveys: Collection of all surveys in one summary.
2012 Project Vote Smart
2012 Christian Coalition voter guide
2010 Christian Coalition voter guide
2010 Faith2Action.org voter guide
2010 Project Vote Smart
Contract From America
Contract With America

Reports & Letters:
Governmental Reports
Resolutions 2011
Letters 2011
Supreme Court Rulings
Supreme Court 2011:

2008 Presidential
2004 Presidential
2000 Presidential
2008 Issues
2004 Issues
2000 Issues

Senate Votes:
Through 2011
Through 2009
Through 2007
Through 2003

House Votes:
Through 2011


Error processing SSI file

2009-H4300 on Dec 11, 2009

Source: National Consumer Credit Usury Rate (H.R.4300)
Section 107 of the Truth in Lending Act (15 U.S.C. 1606) is amended by adding at the end the following new subsection, entitled "National Consumer Credit Usury Rate":
  1. LIMITATION ESTABLISHED--The annual percentage rate applicable to any extension of credit under, or any outstanding balance on, any credit card account under an open end consumer credit plan may not exceed 16 percent.
  2. INCLUSION OF CERTAIN FEES IN DETERMINING APR--In determining the annual percentage rate applicable to any credit card account, membership fees or annual fees shall be included in the finance charge [calculation].
  3. ADJUSTMENTS--the Board may make adjustments to the maximum annual percentage rate limitation when any such adjustment is in the public interest and economic conditions warrant. Any increase in the maximum annual percentage rate limitation [will be determined by] severe economic conditions, taking into account the prevailing bank prime rates, and statistical information the Board determines to be relevant.

    • Topic: Budget & Economy
    • Headline: Establish a usury limit of 16% for consumer credit cards
    • Headline 2: Sponsored bill establishing credit card usury limit of 16%

    • Key for participation codes:
    • Sponsorships: p=sponsored; o=co-sponsored; s=signed
    • Memberships: c=chair; m=member; e=endorsed; f=profiled; s=scored
    • Resolutions: i=introduced; w=wrote; a=adopted
    • Cases: w=wrote; j=joined; d=dissented; c=concurred
    • Surveys: '+' supports; '-' opposes.

    Democrats participating in 2009-H4300

    Rob Andrews s1sNew Jersey Democrat
    Michael Arcuri s1sNew York Democrat (until 2010)
    Timothy Bishop s1sNew York Democrat
    Michael Capuano s1sMA Former Democratic Primary Senate Challenger (2009)
    Russ Carnahan s1sMissouri Democrat
    James Clyburn s1sSouth Carolina Democrat
    Steve Cohen s1sTennessee Democrat
    John Conyers s1sMichigan Democrat
    Jerry Costello s1sIllinois Democrat (Retiring 2012)
    Joe Courtney s1sConnecticut Democrat
    Elijah Cummings s1sMaryland Democrat
    Kathy Dahlkemper s1sPennsylvania Democrat (until 2010)
    Peter Defazio s1sOregon Democrat
    Bill Delahunt s1sMassachusetts Democrat (until 2010)
    Rosa DeLauro s1sConnecticut Democrat
    Lloyd Doggett s1sTexas Democrat
    Mike Doyle s1sPennsylvania Democrat
    Donna Edwards s1sMaryland Democrat
    Keith Ellison s1sMinnesota Democrat
    Anna Eshoo s1sCalifornia Democrat
    Sam Farr s1sCalifornia Democrat
    Bob Filner s1sCalifornia Democrat (Mayoral run 2011)
    Marcia Fudge s1sOhio Democrat
    John Garamendi s1sCalifornia Democrat
    Raul Grijalva s1sArizona Democrat
    Phil Hare s1sIllinois Democrat (until 2010)
    Alcee Hastings s1sFlorida Democrat
    Maurice Hinchey s1sNew York Dem/Working-Fam.(Retired 2012)
    Mazie Hirono s1sHawaii Democrat (Senate run 2012)
    Mike Honda s1sCalifornia Democrat
    Steve Israel s1sNew York Democrat
    Jesse Louis Jackson s1sIllinois Democrat
    Sheila Jackson Lee s1sTexas Democrat
    Eddie Bernice Johnson s1sTexas Democrat
    Marcy Kaptur s1sOhio Democrat
    Patrick Kennedy s1sRhode Island Democrat (until 2010)
    Dennis Kucinich s1sOhio Democrat
    James Langevin s1sRhode Island Democrat
    Nita Lowey s1sNew York Democrat
    Steve Lynch s1sMassachusetts Democrat
    Eric Massa s1sNew York Democrat (until 2010)
    Doris Matsui s1sCalifornia Democrat
    Betty McCollum s1sMinnesota Democrat
    Jim McDermott s1sWashington Democrat
    Jim McGovern s1sMassachusetts Democrat
    George Miller s1sCalifornia Democrat
    Alan Mollohan s1sWest Virginia Democrat
    James Moran s1sVirginia Democrat
    John Murtha s1sPennsylvania Democrat (Deceased Feb. 2010)
    Jerrold Nadler s1sNew York Dem./Lib./Working-Families
    John Olver s1sMassachusetts Democrat (Retiring 2012)
    Tom Perriello s1sVirginia Democrat (until 2010)
    Ciro Rodriguez s1sTexas Democrat (until 2010)
    Jan Schakowsky s1sIllinois Democrat
    Jose Serrano s1sNew York Democrat/Liberal
    Carol Shea-Porter s1sNew Hampshire Democrat (until 2010)
    Louise Slaughter s1sNew York Democrat
    Pete Stark s1sCalifornia Democrat
    Betty Sutton s1sOhio Democrat
    Bennie Thompson s1sMississippi Democrat
    John Tierney s2pMassachusetts Democrat
    Paul Tonko s1sNew York Democrat
    Ed Towns s1sNew York Democrat/Liberal
    Niki Tsongas s1sMassachusetts Democrat
    Peter Visclosky s1sIndiana Democrat
    Diane Watson s1sCalifornia Former Democrat (until 2010)
    Henry Waxman s1sCalifornia Democrat
    Peter Welch s1sVermont Democrat
    Lynn Woolsey s1sCalifornia Democrat (Retiring 2012)

    Republicans participating in 2009-H4300

    Walter Beaman Jones s1sNorth Carolina Republican
    Todd Platts s1sPennsylvania Republican (Retiring 2012)

    Independents participating in 2009-H4300

    Total recorded by OnTheIssues:

    Democrats: 69
    Republicans: 2
    Independents: 0

Reproduction of material from any OnTheIssues.org pages without written permission is prohibited.
Copyright © 1999-2022 Jesse Gordon and OnTheIssues.org , all rights reserved.
OnTheIssues.org 1770 Massachusetts Ave. #630, Cambridge MA 02140

E-mail us at:submit at OnTheIssues.org
(Editorial staff, for news and corrections)
Business information (Dr. Naomi Lichtenberg, for partnerships and advertising)
Political information (Jesse Gordon, for content and technical matters)
About Us (We report about campaigns; please don't write us if you want to reach any campaign!)
  Newsletter     Signup  
Or click for More Info.