Christine Gregoire on Civil Rights

Democratic WA Governor

No discrimination based on sexual orientation

Gov. Gregoire in 2006 signed historic civil rights legislation that protects Washington citizens from discrimination in housing, employment, insurance, and credit transactions based on sexual orientation. The new law affirms that discrimination is not a Washington value & represents a strong step toward a society that is free of discrimination for all its participants. Gov. Gregoire believes that state government must not discriminate against any of its citizens in bestowing rights and responsibilities.
Source: Gubernatorial website, www.governor.wa.gov/ , Nov 11, 2006

Encourage MWOB businesses to compete for state contracts

Governor Gregoire doubled the Linked Deposit Programís ability to make low-interest loans to women- and minority-owned businesses. She also instructed state agencies to find new ways to encourage women- and minority-owned businesses to compete for state contracts.

Because diversity is as important in the workplace as it is in the community, the Governor has selected a diverse staff within her office. Her cabinet appointments are some of the most diverse in state history.

Source: Gubernatorial website, www.governor.wa.gov/ , Nov 11, 2006

Other governors on Civil Rights: Christine Gregoire on other issues:
WA Gubernatorial:
Howard Schultz
Jay Inslee
WA Senatorial:
Maria Cantwell
Patty Murray

Newly elected Nov. 2012:
IN: Mike Pence (R)
NC: Pat McCrory (R)
NH: Maggie Hassan (D)
MT: Steve Bullock (D)
WA: Jay Inslee (D)

Re-elected 2012:
DE: Jack Markell (D)
MO: Jay Nixon (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
UT: Gary Herbert (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WV: Earl Ray Tomblin (D)

Up for re-election 2013:
NJ: Chris Christie
VA: Bob McDonnell
Up for re-election 2014:
AK: Sean Parnell
AL: Robert Bentley
AR: Mike Beebe
AZ: Jan Brewer
CA: Jerry Brown
CO: John Hickenlooper
CT: Dan Malloy
FL: Rick Scott
GA: Nathan Deal
HI: Neil Abercrombie
IA: Terry Branstad
ID: Butch Otter
IL: Pat Quinn
KS: Sam Brownback
MA: Deval Patrick
MD: Martin O'Malley
ME: Paul LePage
MI: Rick Snyder
MN: Mark Dayton
NH: Maggie Hassan
NM: Susana Martinez
NV: Brian Sandoval
NY: Andrew Cuomo
OH: John Kasich
OK: Mary Fallin
OR: John Kitzhaber
PA: Tom Corbett
RI: Linc Chafee
SC: Nikki Haley
SD: Dennis Daugaard
TN: Bill Haslam
TX: Rick Perry
VT: Peter Shumlin
WI: Scott Walker
WY: Matt Mead
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Contact info:
Email Contact Form

Page last updated: Apr 25, 2013