Matt Blunt on Energy & Oil

Republican MO Governor

Proposes “E-10” 10% ethanol standard in gasoline

I am responding to an editorial which states that my proposal to create a 10% ethanol standard will “cause more madness” at the pump. I could not disagree more.

Most who have resisted my E-10 proposal have based their opposition on the belief that the initiative would somehow encumber the free market. [However], many major petroleum companies contractually bar their Missouri affiliates from blending ethanol in gasoline. I view my proposal as one that eliminates a barrier to competition, not one that impedes it. Simply put, all my E-10 initiative would do is ensure that ethanol is used in Missouri gasoline when, and only when, it is less expensive than petroleum-based gasoline.

Another point in favor of my E-10 proposal is our national dependence on foreign oil. The current situation, whereby we import most of our petroleum from OPEC and other foreign nations, leaves the country vulnerable from both a price and national security standpoint.

Source: Gov. Matt Blunt in Springfield News-Leader , May 5, 2006

Other governors on Energy & Oil: Matt Blunt on other issues:
MO Gubernatorial:
Jay Nixon
MO Senatorial:
Claire McCaskill
Roy Blunt

Newly seated 2010:
NJ Chris Christie
VA Bob McDonnell

Term-limited as of Jan. 2011:
AL Bob Riley
CA Arnold Schwarzenegger
GA Sonny Perdue
HI Linda Lingle
ME John Baldacci
MI Jennifer Granholm
NM Bill Richardson
OK Brad Henry
OR Ted Kulongoski
PA Ed Rendell
RI Donald Carcieri
SC Mark Sanford
SD Mike Rounds
TN Phil Bredesen
WY Dave Freudenthal
Newly Elected Nov. 2010:
AL: Robert Bentley (R)
CA: Jerry Brown (D)
CO: John Hickenlooper (D)
CT: Dan Malloy (D)
FL: Rick Scott (R)
GA: Nathan Deal (R)
HI: Neil Abercrombie (D)
IA: Terry Branstad (R)
KS: Sam Brownback (R)
ME: Paul LePage (R)
MI: Rick Snyder (R)
MN: Mark Dayton (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
NM: Susana Martinez (R)
NV: Brian Sandoval (R)
NY: Andrew Cuomo (D)
OH: John Kasich (R)
OK: Mary Fallin (R)
PA: Tom Corbett (R)
RI: Lincoln Chafee (I)
SC: Nikki Haley (R)
SD: Dennis Daugaard (R)
TN: Bill Haslam (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WY: Matt Mead (R)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform


Page last updated: Nov 23, 2011