Erin Murphy on Abortion
No additional license requirements for abortion clinics
- A clinic or health center in which the pregnancies of ten or more women are willfully terminated each month shall be licensed by the commissioner of health.
- The operation of such a facility without obtaining
a license is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $300.
- Comprehensive inspections, with no notice required, shall occur up to two times per year.
- The annual license fee is $3,712.
Excerpts from Veto Letter:I am returning
SF1921, because this bill would impose extensive new licensure requirements on [abortion] clinics. The bill is vague in its definition of potential licensure violations, and could permit complaints to be filed for almost any reason. There are
approximately 1,250 clinics in Minnesota already subjected to significant state and federal oversight.
Legislative Outcome: Rep. Murphy voted NAY; passed Senate 43-23-1, April 18; passed House 80-47-6, April 20; vetoed April 26
Source: Minnesota Legislative voting records on SF1921
, Apr 20, 2012
Page last updated: Jul 13, 2017